Background Tables

I really liked these Background Tables from Hack’s Space. The only thing is, now I have to learn something new again. I have been trying to resize the backgrounds all morning. I think I have figured out a way to show you what I am talking about here in my post today. I guess we will see if I get my message across to you or not, time will tell. I am sure that there is an easier way to do this than what I am trying to do: Here’s the deal!

My home page template, or layout, as I like to call it, has caused me problems with a lot of the HTML code that I try to use. Maybe I should just change the template and I wouldn’t have all these problems, but that’s the deal. If I didn’t have all these different problems, I wouldn’t be learning about HTML either. And I really think that’s important to understand the basics of HTML, for me any how.

My Blog posts go from a narrow strip, on my home page, to a much larger page after I have posted five entries in my Blog. You would think that all that change in size would be incorporated in the HTML codes, but some of it is, and some of it isn’t. Example: I used this old entry, because this is the size of the page, after it is off of my home page, to practice using these backgrounds click here to see. I thought it looked great! What do you think?

I tried to make the backgrounds smaller, without much success, because my Windows Live Writer does recognize the backgrounds as pictures, they are tables and I haven’t worked with them before today. I thought it was strange when I copied the table, only to have it show up as the dreaded X in the box on my writer. So I upload the image to my ImageShack page to get this:

Of course you know what the problem with this is? That’s right, it doesn’t  work, it’s just a picture, it loses all the functions of the background table. So it was back to the drawing board, to figure something else out. All the while I am trying to keep my patience, and thinking to myself, It will be fine, remember you are going to learn something today! I don’t really understand why the writer can’t show the picture, if you click the picture in the folder, it says it’s a JPEG Image and will open it with Adobe Photoshop.

I am determined to figure out a way to use these background tables, I would like to make some of my own from pictures that I like. Not that I don’t think that these are beautiful, because I do, they are great! I just have to figure out how to use them that’s all.

Thanks for Listening,

       Jeff 

My Unique Life in Windows Live Space

About Jeff

I started my Blog on November 25, 2006 and I wanted a Web page where I could "Learn Something New!" Windows Live Spaces made it so easy that even I could do it. I made a commitment to myself to write something in my Blog every day. My writing challenge ended on May 23, 2012.
This entry was posted in Computers/Internet. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment