My Writing Quote

Writing is not about how many words you use: Writing is about the way you use the words.

I thought of this quote the other day and wrote it down so I wouldn’t forget it and I wanted to use it for my writing prompt for today. Along with My Writing Goals from yesterday’s blog entry:

Don’t take Writing/Blogging too seriously, have fun!

I want to be able to write whatever is on my mind but I seem to have this idea that I have to write a certain way that I am not capable of accomplishing. I know that sounds a little strange but what I am saying is I want to write beyond my ability, at this time, but I want to learn to express my thoughts in writing.

Edit out my negative remarks about my writing and myself.

When I have a problem expressing my thoughts in writing, I have a tendency to make negative remarks about my ability. I don’t think that it helps me with my writing or solves the problem, when I do that. I need to work harder at what I am trying to say in my writing instead of leaving those negative comments in my writing.

Quit worrying what others think about my writing.

A good example of this is what I am writing right now, I am writing a few sentences after each goal to remind myself exactly what it is that I hope to accomplish with each goal. I really like writing with this font but yet I am worried that others may think that it is strange.

Quit comparing my writing to the writing of others.

Writing in this Blog is the extent of what I have written, other than the required writing for school classes. But yet I have a tendency to compare my writing to that of people who are truly gifted and talented writers. I am not being fair to myself by making those kinds of comparisons and I need to lighten up.

Allow myself to take a break from writing every day.

The thought behind this goal is to relieve some of the pressure that I have placed on myself to write in my Blog every day. But I don’t want to use it as an excuse not to continue to work on my writing every day. What I am thinking is I might be able to write better if I spent more time editing and learning more about what I am going to write about.

 I need to stop having such high expectations for my writing.

Writing to the best of the ability that I have is all I can ask of myself. Having high expectations for my writing is a set up for failure. I need to continue to practice writing and accept the fact that this is who I am putting high expectation on myself is not going to make me write better.

I need to accept the mistakes that I make in my writing.

I am a beginner at writing and I have a lot to learn, so I need to accept the fact that I am going to make mistakes. This goal is associated with my having such high expectations for myself and not letting myself attempt to learn something new because I might make a mistake.

I have use 593 words in this Blog entry according to Microsoft Word. I hope that I have used them in a way that they can be considered as writing.

Thanks for Listening,

       Jeff

 My Unique Life in Windows Live Space

About Jeff

I started my Blog on November 25, 2006 and I wanted a Web page where I could "Learn Something New!" Windows Live Spaces made it so easy that even I could do it. I made a commitment to myself to write something in my Blog every day. My writing challenge ended on May 23, 2012.
This entry was posted in Blogging. Bookmark the permalink.